Close This Window
Print This Window
Return to Main News Page

GRTS Awards Nearly $11,000 in Scholarships for 2011-2012 School Year
02 20 12 CT By Amanda McKay

Grand River Technical School, Chillicothe, Missouri, has announced its annual post-secondary student scholarships for the 2011-2012 school year. Second semester scholarships totaling $2,377.00 were awarded in January in addition to $8,550.00 previously awarded in the first semester for a total of $10,927.00 in total scholarships awarded for the 2011-2012 school year. Funds for the scholarship are provided by the Chillicothe Rotary Club, the Don Ward Memorial, Kenneth and Vicky Duckworth, the American Legion,the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Investor's National Bank, Woody's Auto, Barnes Baker Motors and Grand River Technical School.

The criteria for selection included: exemplary attendance, work habits and attitude, and competencies or grades earned.

The Chillicothe Rotary Club awarded three scholarships in the amount of $333.33 each, totally around $1,000. Those scholarships went to Philip Bond, of Cameron, Industrial Welding; Trevor Whitley, of Trenton, Building Trades; and Shontel Oesch, of Chillicothe, Child Care Services.

D.E.S.E. Fee Waiver in the amount of $877 was awarded to Max Vanderwood, of Cameron, Collision Technology.

The Don Ward Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $500 was awarded to Princeton student Colton Hertzog, Diesel Equipment Technology.

The Kenneth and Vicky Duckworth Technology Scholarships, totally $2,000 (2 $1,000 scholarships) were awarded to Logan Paris, Hale, Computer Networking Technology and Benjamin Troyer, Jamesport, Computer Networking Technology.

The Vern R. Glick Post 25 American Legion Scholarship was awarded to Philip Bond, Cameron, Industrial Welding, in the amount of $400.

Also in the amount of $400, was the William Matt McCarthy Memorial Scholarship - American Legion, awarded to Nathan Hoskin, of Atlanta, Collision Technology.

Woody's Auto/GRTS Tech Prep Scholarship was awarded to Michael Brookman, of Chula, in the amount of $250. Brookman is enrolled in the Industrial Maintenance program.

The Barnes Baker Motors/GRTS Tech Prep Scholarship in the amount of $250 was awarded to Lucas Williams, of Browning, Industrial Welding.

Investor's National Bank/GRTS Tech Prep Scholarship was awarded to Tyler Wagy, of Bosworth, Building Trades, in the amount of $250.

GRTS Director's Scholarships, totally $5,000 (5 $1,000 scholarships), were awarded to Christian Dean, of Pittsfield, Ill., Collision Technology; Bobby Thompson, of Polo, Diesel Equipment Technology; Jeremy Frazier, of Browning, Diesel Equipment Technology; Kyle Gadberry, Unionville, Collision Technology; and John Davidson, of Shelbyville, Industrial Maintenance.

Back to Top

Close This Window
Print This Window

This page updated by BK Web Works 02/20/2012.

Our state-of-the-art facility in Chillicothe, Missouri (10578 bytes)